Steven Yakimec nominated for Edwin Parr Award

Steven Yakimec nominated for Edwin Parr Teacher Award
Posted on 03/25/2021

Aspen View Public Schools is pleased to announce Mr. Steven Yakimec as its nominee for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award, presented annually by the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) to six outstanding first-year teachers from across the province. Mr. Yakimec currently teaches Grade 8 & 9 at Vilna School.

“Many of you around this table are familiar with the challenges that a first-year teacher faces at the start of their career,” Vilna School Principal Brenda Mykytiuk said today as she introduced Mr. Yakimec to the Aspen View Public Schools Board of Trustees. “Just imagine adding the complexity of COVID to this reality.  Mr. Yakimec easily adapted to the ever-changing situation of learning in a pandemic, and excelled.

“Mr. Yakimec’s classes are well-planned, thoughtful and engaging,” Principal Mykytiuk continued. “His students respond well to him and want to be successful. His lessons are well-paced and he is able to modify content in response to student involvement, engagement and level of understanding. He is reflective, open to feedback and is always keen to collaborate with peers and others to improve his pedagogy. His use of technology is impressive in the classroom and at the school.

“Mr. Yakimec’s attitude is exemplary and we are so fortunate to have him on staff,” Principal Mykytiuk added. “He is always positive, calm and believes in his students. He says things like, ‘It is worth a shot’, ‘I’m willing to try’, or nods his head and says, ‘I think we can do it’.  Mr. Yakimec represents a fresh generation of teachers and demonstrates all the qualities we aspire to.”

The Edwin Parr Teacher Award was established in 1964 to honour long-time Athabasca-area school trustee Edwin Parr, who also served as president of the Alberta School Trustees’ Association (now the ASBA) from 1956 until his passing in 1962.

The Edwin Parr Teacher Awards will be presented at the ASBA Fall General meeting in November 2021.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.