About Us

School Logo

Aspen View School Division, more commonly referred to as Aspen View Public Schools or AVPS, is a regional and primarily rural school authority located north of Edmonton, Alberta. AVPS is 9980 sq km in size.

In September 2020, there were 2,580 Kindergarten to Grade 12 students registered to attend one of AVPS’s 10 schools, four Hutterite Brethren schools, two Outreach/Off-Campus/Virtual schools and one Institutional School. Our division employs 364 staff; with 176.64 Full Time Equivalences (FTEs) being teachers or administrators.

AVPS is governed by a Board of Trustees comprised of seven members. Elections for Trustee positions are held every four years. Board meetings are held throughout the year, and are open to the public. Please see the Board of Trustees section of this website for more information, meeting minutes and agendas.

The division is managed by a senior management team that include Superintendent of Schools Neil O'Shea; Deputy Superintendent Dr. Karen Penney; Secretary-Treasurer Aimee Hirtle; Director of Curriculum and Technology, Donna Wesley; Director of Student Services, Shannon Smith; and Director of Human Resources, Kimberlee Carson.

Our division is committed to a transparent collaboration process with our stakeholders and is dedicated to reflect the beliefs and needs of our communities. Our mission, vision and beliefs clearly set the direction for our division. Providing high quality programs and activities for our students is always a top priority. All members of our organization, both past and present, are commended for their dedicated efforts to our division's accomplishments.

This is all achieved while ensuring safe and inviting learning and working environments for students, staff and volunteers.

Aspen View Public School Board of Trustees - October 2020
Back row, left to right: Trustees Dennis MacNeil, Candyce Nikipelo (Chair), Anne Karczmarczyk (Vice Chair), Thomas Mykytiuk.
Front row, left to right: Trustees Nancy Sand, Donna Cherniwchan, April Bauer.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.